Notatypewriter's Blog

Umm… what?

Lessons learned: Air drying clothes

leave a comment »

I heard that clothes last longer when you don’t run them through the dryer, not to mention saving on dryer costs. So I decided to try air drying this week’s load of laundry using an IKEA Antonius drying rack (a cinch to assemble). As with most things, theory != practice.

Lesson 1: Volume blows

Hanging clothes on a drying rack is a lot of work! Not only is it physical labor, but there’s also an element of planning involved. One must attempt to fit all the clothes on the rack but also optimize for maximal airflow between the items to decrease drying times and prevent mold (!) from growing on the clothes. (I don’t know what mildew looks or smells like on clothes. I’ve seen it in books…)

To relieve this, I don’t think I’ll try to dry all of my two weeks’ worth of clothes at once. I also noticed half of the space taken up on the rack was socks, underwear, and undershirts, all of which I don’t really care about since they’re so cheap (except for about half of my underwear). Instead, I’ll only air dry the clothes I truly care about like my graphic t-shirts, polos, and jeans.

Lessons to be learned

Since my clothes are still drying right now, I have no clue how wrinkled these clothes will become. For all of my t-shirts I gave them a shake or two and then hung them up and it looks like it’s pretty wrinkle free for now

Written by notatypewriter

2011 August 16 at 11:04 pm

Posted in Thoughts

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

